English
This forum is closed for posting. Please, join us in our Discord server at discord.gg/regnum. See you there!

Go Back   Champions of Regnum > English > Technical Support > Linux

Linux Technical issues under Linux platform

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2008, 11:29 PM   #1
MAXDDARK
Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Israel - The safest place on earth !
Posts: 379
MAXDDARK is on a distinguished road
Default Sometimes the game retsarts Xserver on exit

Sometimes when I quite the game is also restarts my Xserver, and if I remember correctly is also restart my computer (but I can't remember for sure).
I use GNU/Linux Ubuntu gibbon with ATI 9800 Pro video card.
MAXDDARK no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:35 PM   #2
ArcticWolf
Duke
 
ArcticWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 0x00CAFE
Posts: 3,366
ArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Can you attach the xserver logs, please? :P

Generally they're on /var/log/Xorg.0.log or something like that...

Try running in windowed mode also..
__________________
I don't have a solution, but I admire the problem.
ArcticWolf no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 12:19 AM   #3
MAXDDARK
Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Israel - The safest place on earth !
Posts: 379
MAXDDARK is on a distinguished road
Default

It's a huge log, may I grep someting specific for you ?

Anyway in windows mode it never happened, therfore I used to switch to window mode (alt+enter) before exiting the game.
But this problem should be fix none the less.
MAXDDARK no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 12:38 AM   #4
ArcticWolf
Duke
 
ArcticWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 0x00CAFE
Posts: 3,366
ArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Just attach the log, I don't know what could be the cause of such behaviour, so better look for anything strange... Anyway, lines starting with (EE) are critical errors if my memory serves me well... Try grepping that.

I'll try to run the game in full screen mode to see if it happens the same to me. Which distro are you running?



PS: In the spanish forum a user (Sunos) made a "super-bash-line" that gives a lot of information about the computer & distro. I know this is kind of offtopic, but maybe we can get a detailed diagnostic with this "tool" :P

Code:
clear && echo "Gathering information" && echo "++++++CPU+++++" > pp && cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep model >> pp && cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'cpu MHz' >> pp && cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'cache size' >> pp && echo "++++++Dist+++++" >> pp && uname -a >> pp && cat /etc/`ls /etc/ | grep version` >> pp && ls /etc/ | grep version >> pp && cat /etc/issue | grep -m1 "" | cut -d\\ -f1 >> pp && uptime >> pp && echo "++++++Video+++++" >> pp && `locate lspci | grep -m1 'n/lspci'` | grep VGA >> pp && glxinfo | grep direct >> pp && glxinfo | grep OpenGL >> pp && glxinfo | grep s3tc >> pp && echo "++++++MODULES++++++" >> pp && cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Load >> pp && echo "++++++RAM+++++" >> pp && cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemTotal >> pp && echo "++++++sensors+++++" >> pp && sensors >> pp || echo "No sensors detected" >> pp && mv pp $HOME/Desktop/diag.txt && echo "Diagnostic available at $HOME/Desktop/diag.txt. " && echo "Detailing information " && echo "" && echo "" && echo "" && cat $HOME/Desktop/diag.txt
__________________
I don't have a solution, but I admire the problem.
ArcticWolf no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 12:52 AM   #5
MAXDDARK
Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Israel - The safest place on earth !
Posts: 379
MAXDDARK is on a distinguished road
Default

As I indicated in my first post I'm using Ubuntu gibbon.

maxim@maxim-ubuntu:~$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log |grep EE
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER

Diag command (the command is longer then the output :

Gathering information
cat: subversion: No such file or directory
Diagnostic available at /home/maxim/Desktop/diag.txt.
Detailing information
++++++CPU+++++
model : 2
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
cpu MHz : 1795.658
cache size : 512 KB
++++++Dist+++++
Linux maxim-ubuntu 2.6.22-14-generic #1 SMP Tue Dec 18 08:02:57 UTC 2007 i686 GNU/Linux
lenny/sid
No sensors detected
------------------------------
I also attached my Xorg file as a zip file, just extract it (the forum size limit for those kind of files doesn't permit this size, but if I'll change manually the syntax to be .rar so it will be fine, the difference between Linux and windows and those forums - the "file" command ).
Attached Files
File Type: zip Xorg.0.log.zip (9.5 KB, 3 views)
MAXDDARK no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 01:16 AM   #6
Froste
Baron
 
Froste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Svea Rike
Posts: 814
Froste is on a distinguished road
Default

that doesn't look like the particular log with the crash, that looks like a normal startup log for X; however it mentions you run aiglx, and at first I assumed it was just a driver issue, but I think it's a driver+aiglx issue now, if you tried a regular X server it prolly wouldn't crash.
__________________
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines...
Froste no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 01:22 AM   #7
ArcticWolf
Duke
 
ArcticWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 0x00CAFE
Posts: 3,366
ArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of lightArcticWolf is a glorious beacon of light
Default

So you're using an ATI graphics adapter (Radeon 9800 Pro) with the system up to date... I'm wondering if it could be a driver issue with one of the libriaries.

The only thing that comes to my mind now are the drivers, so if you feel lucky and with time try using this ones. Try quitting the game in windowed mode or switching from full-screen to windowed mode. If you don't crash when quitting in windowed mode, the problem may be at changing resolutions.

This is my best guess, I'm really baffled on this one. =/
__________________
I don't have a solution, but I admire the problem.
ArcticWolf no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 11:16 AM   #8
MAXDDARK
Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Israel - The safest place on earth !
Posts: 379
MAXDDARK is on a distinguished road
Default

I guess indeed the the problem IS in changing resolutions , I remember sometimes when I press alt+enter then I get a buggy screen at the down right side of the screen.
MAXDDARK no ha iniciado sesión   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NGD Studios 2002-2016 © All rights reserved